Sean McDonough '84 receives Marty Glickman Award for Leadership in Sports Media (slideshow)

July 27, 2016

Fourth annual award presented at Time Warner Headquarters in New York City

Glickman Award Photo Gallery

The Newhouse School presented the fourth annual Marty Glickman Award for Leadership in Sports Media to alumnus Sean McDonough ’84 of ESPN on July 25 at Time Warner Headquarters in New York City.

McDonough, one of sports television’s most versatile broadcasters, will be the new play-by-play voice for ESPN’s “Monday Night Football” (MNF) when the 2016 NFL season kicks off in a few weeks. He becomes the fifth person to occupy the position in the 46-year history of MNF, joining broadcasting stalwarts Keith Jackson, Frank Gifford, Al Michaels and Newhouse alumnus Mike Tirico ’88, who called the past 10 seasons on ESPN. He is also a leading play-by-play commentator on the network’s college basketball coverage.

Fellow Newhouse graduate Beth Mowins G’90 presented the award, which is sponsored by the Newhouse Sports Media Center. Mowins, play-by-play commentator for ESPN, received the award last year.

Other speakers at the event included McDonough’s friends and colleagues Jason Benetti ’05, ESPN and White Sox play-by-play announcer; Bill Raftery, college basketball analyst with Fox Sports; and Dan Hoard ’85, radio voice of the Cincinnati Bengals and the University of Cincinnati.

The Glickman Award is named for sportscasting pioneer Marty Glickman, a 1939 alumnus of Syracuse University. Glickman’s legacy marks the beginning of the Newhouse School’s reputation for turning out more talented sports journalists than any other program in the country, leading Syracuse University to be hailed as an “incubator” of American sportscasters by Sports Illustrated.

Photos by Sam Maller and Cassie Dagostino.