Newhouse students win state Associated Press Broadcasters Association awards

June 3, 2014

Students from the Newhouse School were big winners at the recent New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association College Awards Competition. Results were announced at the ceremony in Saratoga Springs, which several Newhouse students attended, along with Randy Wenner from the broadcast and digital journalism department.

In the four college categories, Newhouse School entries won two first place awards and three special mentions. Students spent time networking with NBC News Political Director and keynote speaker, Chuck Todd; WCBS Newsradio 880 (New York City) News Director Tim Scheld; and WKTV (Utica) General Manager Steve McMurray ‘95, among others.




Best TV News Story

Special Mention

Newhouse School-TV: Student Snowplowing App Takes Off, Maria Catanzarite (BDJ).


Best Regularly Scheduled Local News Program-TV

No. 1

Newhouse School-TV, Citrus TV News: Feb. 27, 2014, Cyan Grandison (IST), Anna Giles (BDJ), Molly Smith (BDJ), Leanne DeRosa (BDJ), Kristen Eskow (BDJ), Emma Gottlieb (BDJ).




Chris Ulanowski Memorial Award for Best News Story

Special Mention:

Newhouse School – Radio: Art Exhibition Highlights Disabled Artists, Chenelle Terry  (BDJ)


Bill Leaf Memorial Award for Best Regularly Scheduled Local News Program

No. 1:

Newhouse School - Radio, WAER Newscast: 4:30 p.m. Feb. 21, 2014, Valerie Crowder (NOJ), Eric Duick (BDJ), Jake Moskowitz (PRL)


Special Mention:

Newhouse School - Radio, WAER Newscast: 5:30 p.m. Jan 17, 2014, Valerie Crowder (NOJ), Eric Duick (BDJ), Sawyer Rosenstein (BDJ)