Newhouse students named University Scholars

April 8, 2019
Photo of David Edelstein & Saniya More

Two Newhouse School students are among the 12 seniors named as the 2019 Syracuse University Scholars, the highest undergraduate honor bestowed by the University.

The students are David Edelstein and Saniya More, both students in broadcast and digital journalism and members of the Renée Crown University Honors Program.

University Scholars will represent the entire graduating class at the May 12 Commencement ceremony. They will be honored at a reception hosted by Chancellor Kent Syverud and Dr. Ruth Chen and will receive special medallions to be worn at Commencement. The scholars will also be honored at the One University awards ceremony on Friday, April 12, in Hendricks Chapel.

The Syracuse University Scholars Selection Committee, a University-wide faculty committee, selected the 2019 scholars using criteria that included academic achievement, evidence of independent research and/or creative work, evidence of intellectual growth and/or innovation in their disciplinary field, contributions to the academic environment and endeavors of the University, a personal statement and faculty letters of recommendation.