Work of Tanner Hogan

Newhouse student work featured in Graphis New Talent Annual

February 14, 2020

Newhouse School students made a strong showing in this year’s Graphis New Talent Annual, with five students earning recognition in the Platinum category and dozens more in the Gold, Silver and Honorable Mention categories.

A publication of Graphis Inc., New Talent Annual presents the best student work of the year, providing young professionals exposure and recognition.

The winning Newhouse students were taught by advertising professors of practice Mel White and Kevin O’Neill, and graphic design adjunct Claudia Strong.

Students in the Newhouse creative advertising program won 61 awards in total, more than any other competing school. Advertising student Joyee Lin made Newhouse history by winning two Platinum awards. Advertising students Xinran Xiao, Rachel Hayashi, Zhixin Fan and Karen Miranda also earned Platinum awards. The Platinum student winners, their bios, and their winning ads will be featured in the annual. Professor Mel White will also have her photo and bio in the annual, along with the other professors whose students won Platinum awards.

Additional honors include:

Gold — advertising

  • Karen Miranda (two Gold awards)
  • Zhixin Fan (three Gold awards)
  • Ivor Guest (two Gold awards)
  • Charley Karchin
  • Tom Ciaccio
  • Livia Jones
  • Benjamin Lin (two Gold awards)
  • Emily Babcock
  • Joseph DeBlasio (two Gold awards)
  • Keren Mevorach
  • Elaina Berkowitz
  • Rachel Hayashi

Gold — graphic design

  • Julia Lawrence
  • Tanner Hogan

Silver — advertising

  • Livia Jones
  • Benjamin Lin
  • Shaoli Yusaf
  • Emily McMurray (two Silver awards)
  • Sabrina Ghantous (two Silver awards)
  • Mike Gaines
  • Marta Lala
  • Sophia Jactel
  • Kristen Heglin (two Silver awards)
  • Xinran Xiao
  • Ari Schnitzer
  • Dehao Luo
  • Jessica Miranda
  • Zachary Driscoll
  • Serena Maldonado
  • Derek Rosen
  • Olivia DeLorenzo
  • Lindsay Weisleder
  • Isabella Leon
  • Emily Babcock
  • Spencer Krimsky
  • Ivor Guest
  • Amy Schwartz (two Silver awards)
  • Elaina Berkowitz
  • Keren Mevorach (four Silver awards)

Silver — graphic design

  • Steve Schulz
  • Zimeng Chen
  • Katie Getman

Newhouse students also garnered a total of 53 Honorable Mentions.

Winning entries may be viewed online.

Top: Graphic design student Tanner Hogan earned Gold honors for his stamp design.