Toner Prizes

The Toner Prizes for Excellence in Political Reporting recognize the best U.S. national or local political reporting in any medium or on any platform—print, broadcast or online.

The 2023 Toner Prizes competition is now closed for submissions.

Two prizes—the Toner Prize for Excellence in National Political Reporting and the Toner Prize for Excellence in Local Political Reporting—are awarded annually by the Newhouse School. Each includes a $5,000 honorarium.

Entries are judged on how well they reflect the high standards and depth of reporting that marked Robin Toner’s work. Judges look for how well the entries:

Entries must be fact-based reporting, not commentary. Single articles, series or a body of work are eligible. Books are ineligible.

The submission period runs from Dec. 1 to mid-January. Winners are announced in March in Washington, D.C., at the gala Toner Celebration.


2022 National Toner Prize
The Washington Post
The Attack” 

2022 Local Toner Prize
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Inside the Campaign to Undermine Georgia’s Election

2021 National Toner Prize
David A. Graham, The Atlantic

David A. Graham

2021 National Toner Prize Honorable Mention
Jennifer Medina, The New York Times

Jennifer Medina

2021 Toner Prize for Excellence in Local Political Reporting Staff

2020 National Toner Prize
The Boston Globe

2020 Local Toner Prize
WBEZ Public Media

2019: Jason Zengerle

2018: The Washington Post

2017: David Fahrenthold, The Washington Post

David Fahrenthold

2016: Alec MacGillis, ProPublica

Alec MacGillis

2015: Dan Balz, The Washington Post

Dan Balz

2014: Karen Tumulty, The Washington Post

Karen Tumulty

2013: Molly Ball, The Atlantic

Molly Ball

2012: Jane Mayer, The New Yorker

Jane Mayer

2011: Craig Harris, The Arizona Republic

Craig Harris