Past Winners

The Newhouse School has honored media industry reporters since the first Mirror Awards were bestowed in 2007.

Above: Anna Holmes accepts the Mirror Award for Best Commentary, Traditional/Legacy Media in 2012.


Best Single Article/Story
Jane Mayer for The New Yorker: “Trump TV”

Best Profile
Molly Langmuir for Elle: “What’s Next For New Yorker Reporter Jane Mayer?”

Best Commentary
Jenni Monet for Columbia Journalism Review and the Economic Hardship Reporting Project: “The crisis in covering Indian Country”

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting
Molly Webster and Bethel Habte for Radiolab/WNYC Studios: “Right to be Forgotten”

Special Topic Category: Best Story on Media Coverage of the Trump Impeachment
Margaret Sullivan for The Washington Post: “The two big flaws of the media’s impeachment coverage — and what went right”

Special Topic Category: Best Story on the Future of Journalism
Brent Cunningham for Pacific Standard: “Losing the News”