Under the direction of Dean Mark J. Lodato, the leadership team oversees administrative areas that serve students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the Newhouse School.

Mark J. Lodato, Dean

Mark J. Lodato was appointed dean of the Newhouse School in July 2020. He leads a team that includes some 200 faculty and staff and approximately 2,400 students.

mlodato@syr.edu • 315.443.3627

Hua Jiang, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Hua Jiang, Ph.D. leads the Office of Academic Affairs, which oversees all aspects of the academic operation at the Newhouse School.

hjiang07@syr.edu • 315.443.3475

Regina Luttrell, Associate Dean for Research and Creative Activity

Regina Luttrell, Ph.D. leads the research and creativity efforts at the Newhouse School, leveraging the work and reputation of Newhouse scholars and practitioners, while encouraging collaboration with industry and other schools and colleges at Syracuse.

rmluttre@syr.edu • 315.443.3613

Rockell Brown Burton, Associate Dean for Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility (IDEA)

Rockell Brown Burton, Ph.D. leads strategic planning in IDEA, including efforts to recruit diverse students, faculty and staff; programming for marginalized students; campus visits by diverse industry leaders, thinkers and scholars; and course development.


Joel Kaplan, Associate Dean for Graduate Programs

Joel Kaplan

Joel Kaplan oversees the Office of Graduate Programs, which guides and supports prospective and current students in the school’s professional master’s degree programs.

jkkaplan@syr.edu • 315.443.1429

Brad Horn, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives

Brad Horn oversees strategic initiatives and special projects for the Newhouse School.

bdhorn@syr.edu • 315.443.3438

Karen McGee, Assistant Dean for Student Success

Karen McGee

Karen McGee leads the Office of Student Success, which assists undergraduate students with all aspects of the academic experience at Newhouse.

kmcgee@syr.edu • 315.443.4722

Carol Satchwell, Assistant Dean for Development and Alumni Engagement

Carol Satchwell

Carol Satchwell is responsible for the development of the strategic plan for the Newhouse School’s Office of Advancement and coordinates the school’s fundraising efforts.

cmsatchw@syr.edu • 315.443.5281

Susan Nash, Director of Administration

Susan Nash

Susan Nash oversees all aspects of facilities management for the Newhouse School, and serves as chief of staff for the Dean’s Office.

sknash@syr.edu • 315.443.5007

Shelly Collins, Budget Director

Shelly Collins

Shelly Collins heads the Office of Budget and oversees the Newhouse School’s financial affairs. She has worked at Syracuse University for more than 30 years.

sdcollin@syr.edu • 315.443.2303

Genaro Armas, Director of Communications

Genaro Armas oversees all communications for the Newhouse School, including the website, the magazine, social media, branding and special events publicity.

gcarmas@syr.edu • 315-443-2785

Brian Tibbens, Director of Information Technology

Brian Tibbens

Brian Tibbens leads the Newhouse Information and Computing Services team, which oversees technology infrastructure and support for the Newhouse School.

betibben@syr.edu • 315.443.5118

Amanda Griffin, Director of Special Events

Amanda Griffin oversees annual and special events for the Newhouse School.

algri100@syr.edu • 315.443.7982

Tula Goenka, Dean’s Leadership Fellow

Tula Goenka

Tula Goenka was appointed the inaugural Dean’s Leadership Fellow in July 2022. In this role, she focuses on the engagement, inclusivity and support of the Newhouse School’s international student community.

tgoenka@syr.edu • 315.443.3376