Newhouse student-produced TV series wins at the 34th annual Telly Awards

By Wendy S. Loughlin

May 15, 2013

Dead Letters,” an original TV series produced by students in the Newhouse School’s Department of Television, Radio and Film (TRF), is the recipient of a 2013 Telly Award. The competition drew nearly 11,000 entries from all 50 states and several countries.

Founded in 1979, the Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs; video and film productions; and online commercials, video and films. Winners represent the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators and corporate video departments in the world.

“We always push our students to surpass the bounds of ‘student work,’” says TRF Chair Michael Schoonmaker. “The great thing about this award is that these students won it going up against professional competitors. I couldn’t be more proud of this amazing accomplishment by the ‘Dead Letters’ team!”

“Dead Letters” was shot last fall as part of the TRF 452/652 course, Taught by Schoonmaker. Students involved with the project include: Clay Barron, Susy Benaim, Mary Castellanos, Kelly Criscione, Sarah Gleason, Logan Kriete, Sunny Liang, Daniel Marcus, Olivia Meng, Katie Mullins, Nick Pulis, Michael Richman, Alyson Roseman, Rachel Samples, Charles D. Schulz, Hunter Simon, Marc Sollinger, Vivien Ding, Victoria Welch and Kenneth Ho.

A panel of over 500 accomplished industry professionals judged the competition. They evaluated entries to recognize distinction in creative work; entries did not compete against each other, but rather were judged against a high standard of merit.

“Our TRF students’ accomplishment illustrates their creativity, skill and dedication to their craft and serves as a testament to great film and video production,” says Schoonmaker.