Mike Tirico '88 to receive Marty Glickman Award for Leadership in Sports Media from the Newhouse School

By Wendy S. Loughlin

October 25, 2017

The ceremony, hosted by the Newhouse Sports Media Center, will be held Nov. 14 on campus

This is a photo of Mike Tirico

Famed sports broadcaster and Newhouse School alumnus Mike Tirico ’88 of NBC Sports will receive the fifth annual Marty Glickman Award for Leadership in Sports Media at a ceremony Nov. 14 on campus. ESPN’s Sean McDonough ’84, last year's recipient, will present the award. The event is open to the campus community. 

The ceremony, hosted by the Newhouse Sports Media Center, will be held at 5 p.m. in the Joyce Hergenhan Auditorium, Newhouse 3. Follow on Twitter at #TheMartyAward.

Previous Glickman Award ceremonies have been held in New York City. But, says retired Sports Media Center director John Nicholson, “bringing the event to campus will give hundreds of Newhouse students the opportunity to attend the event along with faculty, staff and alumni. Giving students this opportunity fits well with Mike’s history of connecting with students on campus and his strong loyalty and generosity to Syracuse University and the Newhouse School.”

Tirico is a host and play-by-play announcer for NBC Sports Group, which he joined in 2016 after a 26-year career with ESPN. Tirico will take over Olympics hosting duties from outgoing host Bob Costas ’74, also a Newhouse alumnus, starting with the 2018 games in PyeongChang. Tirico has often remarked that he chose to study at Syracuse University because he knew Costas had attended the school. In 1987, Tirico was the first recipient of the Bob Costas Scholarship, given to an exceptional broadcast journalism student.

At NBC, Tirico has served as host of “Football Night in America,” the most-watched studio show in sports, as well as The Open, The Ryder Cup and Breeders’ Cup horse racing. He also handled play-by-play for “Sunday Night Football,” “Thursday Night Football” and Notre Dame football. He made his Olympics debut in Summer 2016 as an NBC daytime host and host of the Closing Ceremony in Rio. Tirico is a member of the Syracuse University Board of Trustees.

The Glickman Award is named for sportscasting pioneer Marty Glickman, a 1939 alumnus of Syracuse University.

For more information about the ceremony, contact Amanda Griffin at (315) 443-7982 or algri100@syr.edu