Photo of Mike Tirico, Marv Albert, Bob Costas and Sean McDonough

Mike Tirico '88 joins NBC Sports; Sean McDonough '84 becomes ESPN's new voice of 'Monday Night Football'

May 9, 2016

Top spots in sports broadcasting are held by Newhouse alumni

Updated May 11, 2016

Acclaimed sportscaster Mike Tirico ‘88, an alumnus of the Newhouse School at Syracuse University, will join NBC Sports Group July 1 as the new lead voice for the network’s “Thursday Night Football” series. He will also contribute to “Sunday Night Football,” Summer and Winter Olympics coverage, select golf telecasts and other big events, according to a press release issued today by NBC.

At NBC, Tirico will work with another Newhouse alumnus, Bob Costas ’74, one of the most recognized and honored sports broadcasters in the world. As a student in 1987, Tirico was the first recipient of the Bob Costas Scholarship, given to an exceptional broadcast journalism student. Tirico later established the Mike Tirico Scholarship to support Newhouse undergraduate students, particularly those involved with the sports department at campus radio station WAER, where Tirico got his start.

Tirico joins NBC after a 26-year career at ESPN. With his departure, ESPN’s new play-by-play voice for “Monday Night Football” will be another Newhouse alumnus, Sean McDonough '84. “I can tell you that Sean is one of my closest friends and any chair that Sean McDonough sits in is in great hands,” Tirico said in an article published on

The Newhouse School has produced more talented sports journalists than any other program in the country, leading Syracuse University to be hailed by Sports Illustrated as an “incubator” of American sportscasters. The Newhouse Sports Media Center honors top alumni in sports each year with the Glickman Award, which was established in 2013.

Alumnus Dan Hoard '85, who calls games for the Cincinnati Bengals and attended Newhouse at the same time as Tirico and McDonough, wrote about their connection in a blog post on

Pictured above: Newhouse alumni sportscasters (from left) Mike Tirico '88, Marv Albert '63, Bob Costas '74 and Sean McDonough '84 at Newhouse's Glickman Award ceremony in 2013.