Call for entries: 2017 Mirror Awards

By Wendy S. Loughlin

December 12, 2016

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications is now accepting nominations for the 11th annual Mirror Awards honoring excellence in media industry reporting. The deadline is Feb. 15, 2017. Enter now at

Awards will be given in four categories:

  • Best Single Article/Story ($1,000 prize): A carefully researched print, digital or broadcast (audio or video) piece of any length. Articles may include photos, videos, sidebars, audio and/or interactive elements in addition to the written piece. Regular features/columns, opinion pieces or film/television reviews should not be entered.
  • Best Profile ($1,000 prize): Any carefully researched and sourced piece covering a single person or organization noteworthy in the media industry. Excerpts from “three dot columns”/social notebook features or excerpts from books (unless the book was originally published in serial form in a periodical) should not be entered. These pieces can be print, radio, television or digital.
  • Best Commentary ($1,000 prize): A piece that demonstrates the writer’s overall knowledge of the issues, analytic skills and unique voice. Submissions may be published in print, online, broadcast or radio. This is the category for opinion, humor, columns, etc. Only one piece is required for submission (three pieces were required before this year).
  • John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting ($5,000 prize): Digital, broadcast or traditional/legacy media may be entered. Entries must be a series of articles, may cross platforms (though not required) and will be judged on the quality of the reporting and the importance of the story covered.

Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the Mirror Awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who “hold a mirror to their own industry” for the public’s benefit. They are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting.

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries in a format intended for a mass audience. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment. All entries must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2016.

Entries are evaluated based on three criteria: Excellence of craft; framing of the issue; and appropriateness for the intended audience. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators. An awards ceremony will be held in June 2017 in New York City.

For more information, contact Mike Grannis at 315.443.5711 or

back to top